On Now
Coming Up
  • Thu., Nov. 27, 2014 1:10 PM - 1:30 PM CST Live Ken Whisenhunt Press Conference WATCH LIVE as Tennessee Titans head coach Ken Whisenhunt addresses reporters following the Titans' practice at Saint Thomas Sports Park.

    Time: approx 1:10 pm CT
  • Sun., Nov. 30, 2014 11:40 AM - 11:59 AM CST Live #TitansLive: Pregame WATCH LIVE as TitansOnline's Amie Wells and Joe Fann offer pregame analysis and last-minute line-up changes prior to the Titans-Texans game.
  • Sun., Nov. 30, 2014 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM CST Titans at Texans Buy Tickets | Watch Online
  • Sun., Nov. 30, 2014 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM CST Live TitansLive: Postgame
    WATCH LIVE immediately following the game as TitansOnline's Amie Wells, Joe Fann and former Titan WR Derrick Mason offer postgame analysis and interviews, including Ken Whisenhunt / selected players' post-game press conferences
  • Mon., Dec. 01, 2014 11:00 AM - 1:00 PM CST Live Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards WATCH LIVE as The Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards are presented to the top 10 backs and linemen in five classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association on Monday, December 1, 2014, at the Embassy Suites Hotel & Conference Center in Murfreesboro, TN.

    "Voice of the Titans" Mike Keith will emcee the awards presentation.
  • Sun., Dec. 07, 2014 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM CST Live Titans vs Giants Buy Tickets | Watch Online



Whitehaven's Saulsberry Named High School Coach of the Year

Posted Dec 6, 2012

Rodney Saulsberry (left) accepts Whitehaven's first state championship award from TSSAA Board of Control member Ike White prior to Saulsberry's selection as 2012 Titans High School Coach of the Year.

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — The Tennessee Titans announced today that Rodney Saulsberry, head football coach of Whitehaven High School, has been named the 2012 Titans High School Football Coach of the Year.

In a rematch of last year’s state final, the Whitehaven Tigers defeated the Maryville Rebels 36-35, ending the Rebels’ 43-game win streak and capturing their first ever state championship.Saulsberry’s Tigers (15-0) battled throughout the contest, refusing to lose. They gained a 28-21 lead with 3:39 remaining in the game, but Maryville (14-1) slipped in a score to tie the game, 28-28, with 45 seconds remaining and force overtime. Undeterred and determined, the Whitehaven Tigers continued to battle.

Whitehaven began its second possession in overtime down 35-28, but the Tigers made all the right plays and reached the end zone for six points. Coach Saulsberry, determined to win, planned to go for two before his team reached the end zone. The Tigers lined up in a three-back formation that had been added the week of the game. Saulsberry was positive it would work, and his team proved him right with the decisive two-point conversion.

“I have known Coach Saulsberry since he was a young man and I watched him matriculate and learn how to become a great math teacher and leader in our community,” said Dr. Vincent Hunter, Principle of Whitehaven High School. “Everything about Coach Saulsberry is positive, and I not only respect him for what he does on the field but what he does in classroom and as a man. Coach is of great character and has surrounded himself with a great coaching staff, and it has been a total team effort.”

Through the Titans Foundation, team owner K.S. "Bud" Adams, Jr. will make a $2,000 contribution to the Whitehaven High School football program in Coach Saulsberry’s honor.

"High school football enjoys a great tradition in Tennessee," said Adams. "That tradition is based not only on the outstanding quality of play but on the devotion of their coaches who continue to develop high school football players into young men of strong character.  I'm very pleased to underwrite this program that recognizes the efforts of so many talented high school coaches across the state!"

Coach Saulsberry will be recognized prior to the Titans-Jaguars game on Dec. 30, where the Titans will also recognize the 10 weekly 2012 Titans Coach of the Week winners. The Coach of the Year and all 10 Coaches of the Week will be will be available for interviews /photos in the Titans post-game interview room at 10:45 a.m. Dec. 30.

Now in its 14th season, Adams has awarded more than $161,000 from the Titans Foundation to football programs across the state in honor of the Coach of the Year and Coach of the Week winners. 

The criteria for selection include the coach’s impact on his team, school and community.  A statewide media panel votes each week to determine the weekly winner.  All high school football coaches in Tennessee, regardless of their school’s size, league, or division, are eligible to be selected each week.  The program is designed to recognize high school coaches who transform, through their hard work and dedication, student-athletes into the best possible football players and citizens in their community.

Previous Titans Coach of Year winners:

1999 Jim Wilson, Glencliff High

2000 Tom Weathers, Red Bank High

2001 Ralph Potter, McCallie High

2002 Robert Lassiter, Gallatin High

2003 Jeff Morris, Milan High

2004 Buck Coatney, Knoxville Fulton High

2005 George Quarles, Maryville High

2006 Philip Shadowens, Smyrna High

2007 Ralph Thompson, Maplewood High

2008 Scott Blade, Hillsboro High

2009 Anthony Crabtree, Beech High              

2010 Gary Rankin, Alcoa High

2011 James Counce, Henry County High                        

2012 Titans Coach of the Week winners:

1.   Mac McCurry, Marion County High School   

2.   Kevin Ward, Crockett County High School 

3.   James “Bubba” Spears, Hillwood High School

4.   Josh Fronabargar, West Carroll High School       

5.   Bruce Hatfield, Hendersonville High School   

6.   Jason Fitzgerald, Hixson High School    

7.   Brad Taylor, Bearden High School  

8.   Traye Aric, Portland High School  

9.   Philip Shadowens, Blackman High School           

10. Graham Clark, Dobyns-Bennett High School

Recent Articles

Recent Videos