On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.



Former Oilers LB Robert Brazile Selected to Black College Football Hall of Fame

Posted Oct 24, 2013

ATLANTA -- The Black College Football Hall of Fame announced its seven newest members today. The Class of 2014 includes six players and one coach, including former Houston Oilers linebacker Robert Brazil .

The inductees were selected from a list of 25 finalists who had been determined earlier by the Black College Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

The Selection Committee is comprised of black college football sports writers, analysts and commentators Roscoe Nance (Chairman), Donald Hunt, Ty Miller, Charlie Neal and Lloyd Vance former NFL General Managers Ernie Accorsi and Gil Brandt, long-time NFL scouts Charles Bailey and Charles Garcia, director of the Smithsonian‘s National Museum of African American History and Culture Lonnie Bunch, and historian Michael Hurd.

The Class of 2014 includes Robert Brazile (Jackson State University), Leroy Kelly (Morgan State University), John Stallworth (Alabama A&M University), Michael Strahan (Texas Southern University), Willie Totten (Mississippi Valley State University), Doug Wilkerson (North Carolina Central University) as player inductees and Marino Casem (Alcorn State University) as a coach inductee.

These men will be honored at the Fifth Annual Enshrinement Ceremony, presented by the Atlanta Falcons on March 1, 2014. The event will take place at the Loews Hotel in Atlanta, Georgia in conjunction with Black College Football weekend.

“The history of Black College Football is compelling and must be shared,” said Atlanta Falcons Owner & Chairman Arthur Blank. “We are proud to support the Black College Football Hall of Fame and congratulate the Class of 2014.”

Linebacker ... Jackson State University (1971-1974) ... Inducted into SWAC Hall of Fame (1995) ... Inducted into Jackson State Hall of Fame (2003) ... Houston Oilers (1975-1984) ... 10 seasons ... Selected by Oilers in 1st round 6th player overall (1975 NFL Draft) ... 1975 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year ... Elected to seven Pro Bowls ... Named All-Pro six times ... Named to 1970s NFL All-Decade Team ... Retired with 1,281 tackles which ranks 2nd All- Time in Oilers/Titans record book ... Born February 7, 1953 in Mobile, AL.

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was established to honor the greatest football players, coaches and contributors from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs).    Each inductee’s college or university will receive a $5,000 grant to support continuing academic and athletic opportunities at their respective institutions.

About the Black College Football Hall of Fame
Since inception (2010), 44 members have been inducted and over $172,000 in scholarships has been awarded to Historically Black Colleges & Universities. The Black College Football Hall of Fame is based in Atlanta, Georgia and was founded by Black Quarterback NFL Pioneers James “Shack” Harris and Super Bowl MVP Doug Williams.

Recent Videos

Recent Photos