On Now
Coming Up
  • Tue., Oct. 25, 2016 3:20 PM - 4:00 PM CDT Live Mularkey, Mariota Press Conf. WATCH LIVE as Head Coach Mike Mularkey and QB Marcus Mariota recap Titans practice, live from Saint Thomas Sports Park.

    Tuesday, October 25 | approx. 3:20 pm CT
  • Thu., Oct. 27, 2016 10:30 PM - 11:00 PM CDT Live Postgame Press Conference WATCH LIVE as Tennessee Titans head coach Mike Mularkey and select players meet with reporters following the Titans-Colts game....live from Nissan Stadium.

    Time: after the game



Week 7 Titans High School Coach of the Week Nominees Announced

Posted Oct 14, 2013

Fan votes will determine the Week 7 Titans High School Coach of the Week winner.

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — The Tennessee Titans are proud to announce Week 7 nominees for the Titans High School Coach of the Week honors! 

The nominees are Steve Harris of Westmoreland High School, Graham Clark of Dobyns-Bennett High School, Matt Simms of Hardin County High School, and Tony Brunetti of Pearl-Cohn High School.

Each coach was nominated by sports media throughout the state of Tennessee on the basis of specific criteria that include: beating a longtime rival, snapping a losing streak, defeating a defending champion, recording an amazing come from behind victory and/or involvement in the local community.

Also considered is a coach’s commitment to his players’ safety by teaching the fundamentals of the game, proper tackling techniques, concussion management practices and adherence to heat and hydration guidelines.

Week 7 voting is open until 9 a.m. ET/8 a.m. CT Thursday, Oct. 17. VOTE here.

The 10 weekly winners of the Coach of the Week will each receive a $1,000 grant from the Tennessee Titans Foundation for their football programs to be used to provide funds for equipment, turf treatment or upgrades to their field houses. 

At the conclusion of the Tennessee state playoffs, a Titans High School Coach of the Year will be selected, and that winner will receive a $2,000 grant from the Titans Foundation for his school’s football program! 

The Titans began honoring Tennessee’s High School Coaches in 1998 and since that time, have awarded $167,000 in grants to support high school football programs throughout Tennessee via this program! 

Please review the brief description of each nominee before voting:

Steve Harris, Westmoreland High School: Coach Harris’ Westmoreland Eagles defeated the Greenbrier Bobcats, 14-13. The Eagles were in a defensive battle to the end, sealing the win with an interception with 51 seconds remaining in the game. With the win, Westmoreland remains undefeated in District 9-AA.

Graham Clark, Dobyns-Bennett High School: Coach Clark’s Dobyns-Bennett Indians defeated the Tennessee High Vikings, 28-27. The Indians won in dramatic fashion adding a TD pass with 26 seconds remaining in the game. This is Dobyns-Bennett’s second straight last-minute win and Coach Clark’s 200th victory.

Matt Simms, Hardin County High School: Coach Simms’ Hardin County Tigers defeated the heavily favored Adamsville Cardinals 35-25. The Tigers traded scores with the Cardinals but were able to manage two fourth-quarter touchdowns. The second touchdown was the result of a clutch interception, sealing the win. The Tigers were 2-10 since they last played Adamsville.

Tony Brunetti, Pearl-Cohn High School: Coach Brunetti’s Pearl-Cohn Firebirds defeated the East Nashville Eagles 56-28. The contest was close toward the end of the first half but Pearl-Cohn’s offense surged, scoring 35 consecutive points in the second half. The Firebirds handed the Eagles their first loss of the season.

The winner of the Coach of the Week grant will receive a $1,000 grant to help a deserving school provide funds for equipment, turf treatment or upgrades to their field house!

Click here to vote for the Week 7 Coach of the Week. Voting is open until 9 a.m. ET/8 a.m. CT Thursday, Oct. 17.

Recent Videos

Recent Photos